Embracing darkness

yinYangAs this year comes to a close, I’m torn by the feeling that 2012 has been nothing but a really bad year. Death, failures and devastating news is all I can think of. Of course this leaves me feeling mostly sad and depressed, but there’s a little part of me that’s itching to come out and start screaming “get a grip, it’s not like you’re homeless,living in a concentration camp and submitted to violent acts everyday.”

It’s easy for those not suffering from depression to use the sentence “get a grip”. It should be easy, but this dark cloud is so large and somewhat comforting. At least it is for me.

What keeps me going and hopeful that 2013 will be a great better year are the teachings of many of my yoga teachers. In life there needs to be balance between, good and evil, light and darkness, yin and yang, successes and failures. Without the darkness, we wouldn’t be able to appreciate the light and rejoice in it. Each moment, even devastating ones are opportunities to learn and grow.

So here’s to 2013 and light.

2 thoughts on “Embracing darkness

  1. sabreuse says:

    I’d never say “get a grip” or anything like it — I know too well how awful that sounds when a grip is the very last thing you can get. Instead I’ll say that people love you and have your back whenever you need it.

    Hoping for a better and brighter year for you.

Leave a Reply

