Saying Thank You goes a long way

Every day we encounter hurtful words and gestures. I’m lucky enough that I don’t have to commute much on a daily basis, but when I do, I notice pedestrians bumping into each other, drivers shouting and shaking their fists, cyclists burning through red lights and flipping the bird. These little things are very prominent and difficult to live with, yet we accept them as everyday occurences.

I try to make a point of observing the opposite as well. Strangers picking up trash, holding doors for you, saying thank you and hello just because they feel like it. If you spend time looking for these instances, the rest soon fades away.

I seldom apply this technique to my inbox. Most emails are full of requests and demands. A few are followed by thank yous, but it’s rare that one gets a genuine thank you. I received such a thank you this morning and it made my day. So much so, that I needed to find a way to not forget, hence this blog post.

I just want to take this opportunity to thank you for hiring me as your WordPress intern 4 years ago. It all started with you which led me to the job at Best Buy and now I’m working aboard. Thank you for giving me a chance at the beginning. You are a fantastic person to work with.

I’m sure these three lines didn’t take hours of editing, but their impact is huge. I need to keep this in mind. Saying thanks is easy, but it does go very far.

Leave a Reply

